Sherlene\’s G-LOG

Making Sense of the Census (Fording the Langs, at Present)

Langfords or Lankfords Who Served in the War of 1812

1812–SERVED IN WAR OF 1812 FROM NORTH CAROLINA?

LANGFORDS/LANKFORDS IN THE WAR OF 1812: I found a list of “Langfords & Lankfords in the Revolutionary War,” (alphabetized by first name), compiled by Mr. Robert Lankford, Sr., of Rutherford County, North Carolina (as posted at http://homepages.rootsweb.com/~cmddlton/lgfdwr.html, accessed 1 May 2006, by shb). It has a subtitle, “LANGFORDS & LANKFORDS in the War of 1812.” I extracted all Langfords listed as having served in Virginia militias, during the War of 1812, trying to find out who the four Langford brothers were who served together, including Stephen Langford (m. Lydia Parent, father of Pleasant Shields Langfords). With hope that compiling regiments and states served from might help identify other Langfords as relatives, I also compiled Langfords serving in the War of 1812 from other states:

Langfords who served from Georgia:

Charles Langford Alexander’s Battalion Riflemen Georgia Militia

George Langford Freeman’s Squadron Cavalry Georgia Militia
Henry Langford Freeman’s Squadron Calvalry Georgia Militia

Henry Langford 2 Regiment (Thomas’) Georgia Militia

John Langford 2 Regiment (Jenkins’) Georgia Volunteers & Militia

John Langford 3 Regiment (Few’s) Georgia Militia
Robert Langford 3 Regiment (Few’s) Georgia Militia

Edward Langford 3 Regiment (Wimberly’s) Georgia Militia
James Langford 3 Regiment (Wimberly’s) Georgia Militia
Javis Langford 3 Regiment Wimberly’s) Georgia Militia [James?–shb]

Nicholas Langford Wootton’s Detachment Georgia Militia

Langfords who served from Kentucky:

Robert Langford Renick’s Mounted Battalion Kentucky Volunteers
Stephen Langford Renick’s Mounted Battalion Kentucky Volunteers

Thomas Langford 2 Regiment (Jennings’) Kentucky Volunteers
Thomas Langford 6 Regiment (Davenport), Mounted Kentucky Volunteers
Garrett Langford 7 Regiment (Taul’s), Mounted Kentucky Volunteers

Langfords who served from Maryland:

John Langford 1 Regiment (Jameson’s) Maryland Militia

Obid Langford 2 Regiment (Schucht’s) Maryland Militia

John Langford 27 Regiment (Long’s) Maryland Militia

John Langford 41 Regiment (Hutchins’) Maryland Militia

John Langford Extra Battalion Maryland Militia
Richard Langford Extra Battalion Maryland Militia

Tully Langford Watkins’ Command Maryland Militia

Langfords who served from Mississippi:

David Langford Col. Claiborne’s Regiment Mississippi Militia

David Langford 1 Regiment U.S. Volunteers (1 Regiment Mississippi Territorial Volunteers)
John Langford 1 Regiment U. S. Volunteers (1 Regiment Mississippi Territorial Volunteers)

Langfords who served from North Carolina:

Benjamin D. Langford 1 Regiment (McDonald’s) North Carolina Militia
Elisha Langford 1 Regiment (McDonald’s) North Carolina Militia
John Langford 1 Regiment (McDonald’s) North Carolina Militia

Champ Langford Capt. McClure’s Co. North Carolina Militia

Langfords who served from South Carolina:

Henry Langford Austin’s Regiment South Carolina Militia

John Langford Felder’s Battalion, Art’y South Carolina Militia
William Langford Felder’s Battalion, Art’y South Carolina Militia

John Langford Nash’s Regiment South Carolina Militia
Leander Langford Nash’s Regiment South Carolina Volunteers

Langfords who served from Tennessee:

John M. Langford 1 Regiment (Napier’s) W. Tennessee Militia

John Langford 1 Regiment (Metcalfe’s) W. Tennessee Militia
Henry Langford 1 Regiment (Metcalfe’s) W. Tennessee Militia

William Langford 1 Regiment (Bradleys) Tennessee Volunteers

William Langford 1 Regiment (Hall’s) Tennessee Volunteers
George Langford 1 Regiment (Hall’s) Tennessee Volunteers

Jesse Langford 1 Regiment (Pipkin’s) W. Tennessee Militia

Jesse Langford 2 Regiment (Cocke’s) W. Tennessee Militia

Arthur Langford 2 Regiment Mounted Gunmen (Williamson’s) Tenn. Volunteers

Henry Langford 2 Regiment (Benton’s) Tennessee Volunteers

James Langford 2 Regiment W. Tennessee Militia

James Langford Capt. Gordon’s Co., Mounted Spies Tennessee Militia

Thomas Langford 2 Regiment (Dillard’s) East Tennessee Volunteers

Thomas Langford 38 Regiment Tennessee Militia

Langfords who served from Virginia:

William Langford 1 Regiment (Yancey’s) Virginia Militia

West Langford 4 Regiment Virginia Militia
Perry Langford 4 Regiment Virginia Militia
Jesse Langford 4 Regiment Virginia Militia

Jesse Langford Battalion of Art’y (1813-14) Virginia Militia

Edward Langford Sale’s Battalion Calvary Virginia Militia

Pleasant Langford 5 Regiment Virginia Militia
Stephen Langford 5 Regiment (McDowell’s) Virginia Militia

Pleasant Langford 6 Regiment (Coleman’s Jan-May 1814) Virginia Militia

Charles Langford 7 Regiment (Gray’s) Virginia Militia
James Langford 7 Regiment (Gray’s) Virginia Militia

Hyram Langford 21 Regiment Virginia Militia

Leven Langford 57 Regiment Virginia Militia

Benjamin Langford 74 Regiment (Trueheart’s) Virginia Militia
Henry Langford 74 Regiment (Trueheart’s) Virginia Militia
Sterling Langford 74 Regiment (Trueheart’s) Virginia Militia

Langfords who served in War of 1812 for “United States”

Joseah Langford Rangers United States Volunteers
Eli Langford Rangers United States Volunteers –shb 1 May 2006

May 18, 2006 - Posted by | Genealogy, Langfords in War of 1812

19 Comments »

  1. Howdy. The War of 1812 seems to be a very important and hot topic recently on several blogs. For those that are not aware, Ancestry.com has recently added a War of 1812 Pension and Bounty Land Warrant Index listing. This document proved to be instrumental for me and my Benjamin D. Lankford. There are numerous Langford’s listed in this index, from NY, to GA, etc. I would highly recommend you take a look if you subscribe to Ancestry.com. If not, I am sure someone would be willing to do a search for you for the pertinent facts in case you are considering ordering a copy of one of these records. NARA is about to SIGNIFICANTLY increase the costs of ordering these in the near future, so if you are after these records, NOW is the time.

    Comment by Jeff Davis | June 19, 2007 | Reply

  2. James Langford in Jackson County, is a brother to John “Jack”, Stephen and Rufus Wiley Langford. This is my line, through John. James married Polly Holman. John served in the war of 1812, his wife Mary “Polly” Crane received a widow’s pension. Family tree DNA lists a descendent of Rufus Wiley with haplogroup I1a.

    Comment by Paula Haymon | December 31, 2007 | Reply

  3. My grandfather was Wm Barton Allen, Jr., and my Dad was Melvin Ray (Skeet)Allen,Sr. I have roll#’s for Wm Sr and his wife Polly Ann Langford in the Eastern Band of Cherokee but do not yet have our enrollment. Do you know anything about Polly Crane’s Father, Chief Whooping Crane? How are you related to all the above? Please email a reply…I live in Noble, OK and my Dad, now deceased, was living in Anadarko, OK at the time of his death.

    Comment by CAROL SMITH | February 25, 2008 | Reply

    • I am a dec. of Melinda Francis Allen, duaghter of Polly Crane(Langford). I have some info on the Chief. Can you share Roll#s and where you found them? I will send info on Chief Whooping Crane.

      Comment by Kim Harp | August 26, 2009 | Reply

    • I am a desc of William Barton Allen Sr. Can you share info with me for Roll#s on Sr. and Polly Crane?

      Comment by Kim Harp | August 31, 2009 | Reply

      • hi, my great great grandmother was polly crane(langford) my mother has copies of the indian papers and she is mailing them to me tomorrow, i will add anything i find out, it seems we are very distant relatives

        Comment by leo bretta | September 21, 2009

      • My wife is a desc of William Barton Allen Sr. We would some information on Polly Crane and her father Chief. Thanks Walter Heil

        Comment by Walter Heil | November 13, 2009

    • hi, my great great grandfather was william barton allen, my mom is sending me copies of his papers but apparently he was not on the rolls as it is a court affadavit that states he is indian but did not get on the rolls because someone missed the boat? whatever that means, when i get them i will clarify more,more distant relatives,cool,thanks

      Comment by leo bretta | September 21, 2009 | Reply

      • Hello I saw this posting and would you be willing to share your info with me? Wm. Barton Allen was my gr gr gr grandfather and I am always searching for information..thank you so much

        Comment by Melodee Glossip | May 5, 2013

    • Hi Carol…I am searching for information on them too..would you be willing to share your information with me..I live around the Springfield Missouri area…thank you so much!

      Comment by Melodee Glossip | May 5, 2013 | Reply

    • Hello I came across this and was hoping to connect with you in regards to your Polly Ann Langford. I am also connected through John Langford, please contact me through email. Cthompson.2014@outlokk.com. Thank you in advance. Carla Thompson

      Comment by carla | November 1, 2014 | Reply

  4. wow, this is cool to see my family in this post. James Harvey Langford Sr is my 3rd Great Grandpa
    thanks for your hard work

    Comment by dan | September 15, 2009 | Reply

    • hi, look at my other posts in the comment section,it appears we are related

      Comment by leo bretta | September 21, 2009 | Reply

  5. Hello, I have read through the comments and excited to see so many researching for John “Jack and Mary Polly Crane Langford. They are my 4th great grandparents. I am hoping some or all will be willing to share any information you have on them… Including pictures, stories, indian papers,etc…. My mother is 78 years old and has asked me to research her ancestory.. I would love to be able to share all information available out there.. Please help and information would greatly be appreciated…

    Comment by carla thompson | April 22, 2010 | Reply

  6. Hello there, I do believe your site could be having internet browser compatibility
    issues. When I take a look at your site in Safari, it looks
    fine however, when opening in Internet Explorer, it’s got some overlapping issues. I just wanted to give you a quick heads up! Aside from that, wonderful site!

    Comment by Genia | May 19, 2013 | Reply

  7. My coder is trying to convince me to move to .net from PHP.
    I have always disliked the idea because of the expenses. But he’s tryiong none the less. I’ve been using Movable-type on numerous websites for about a year
    and am nervous about switching to another platform.
    I have heard very good things about blogengine.

    net. Is there a way I can import all my wordpress posts into it?
    Any kind of help would be really appreciated!

    Comment by Constance | June 1, 2013 | Reply

  8. Nice weblog here! Additionally your site loads up very fast!
    What web host are you using? Can I am getting your affiliate hyperlink in your host?
    I wish my web site loaded up as quickly as yours lol

    Comment by youtube garmin gps 60csx | June 7, 2013 | Reply

  9. First off I would like to say awesome blog! I had a
    quick question which I’d like to ask if you don’t mind.
    I was curious to know how you center yourself and clear your mind prior to writing.
    I’ve had a hard time clearing my mind in getting my thoughts out. I do enjoy writing however it just seems like the first 10 to 15 minutes are generally wasted just trying to figure out how to begin. Any recommendations or tips? Thanks!

    Comment by improve memory games app | June 9, 2013 | Reply

  10. El controlador de audio, como en casi todos los portátiles, había que ejecutarlo directamente, por lo que decidí utilizar el de su página de soporte , ya que el backup que realiza My Drivers no empaqueta los ejecutables. Solo le queda la instalación de los programas que habitualmente les pongo, más alguno que el cliente solicita, en este caso tan solo fue el BS Player También configurar la hora y desactivar algunas funciones del windows que no queremos que intervengan en su futuro uso.

    Comment by Arnold Higson | July 20, 2016 | Reply


Leave a Reply

